The 2018 Kate Russell All Ireland Senior Girls Hockey Championships were held at Kilkenny College on the 22nd and 23rd March 2018.  The event proved to be one of great celebration in its outcome as the Kilkenny College Senior Girls Hockey squad emerged at the victorious team in this years competition.  The College expresses its congratulations to Charlotte Cope Captain, Coaches, Mr. Richard Willis and Mr. Ross Harding and Manager Ms. Lesley Threlfall and the entire squad of the senior girls.   The competition was played to an exceptionally high standard across the course of both days and each of the Provincial Champion teams participating represented their Province in an outstanding manner, both on and off the field.

The Kate Russell Tournament was an occasion that brought together all strands of the College community in a unified manner working on behalf of the College and our students.  I would like to take the opportunity to thank all those members of staff, all the students, all the parents and friends of Kilkenny College who gave so willingly of their time on a voluntary basis to ensure that this event was planned, organised and run to such a high standard.  As a College we are grateful to everybody who supported the tournament.  On behalf of Kilkenny College, I would also like to express gratitude to the Irish Hockey Officials, the President and Branch Presidents, the Technical Delegates, the Umpires, Coaches of all teams and all from Hockey Ireland who were involved in the organisation and running of the event.

Congratulations once again to the Senior Girls Hockey squad on their outstanding achievement in being crowned All Ireland Senior Girls Hockey Champions 2018, winners of the Kate Russell Trophy.

Simon Thompson



(Tournament review article courtesy of The Irish Times -

A Yasmin Pratt-inspired Kilkenny College won the school and the South East region’s first Kate Russell All-Ireland Schoolgirls Championship since 1994.

The speedy striker struck six times across their four games to lead them to glory, edging out Loreto Foxrock by points with Ulster side Rainey Endowed third overall.

Indeed, the crucial win came on Thursday when Pratt opened the tournament with a dipping shot, added to by Jessica Wagenaar en route to a 2-1 win over Foxrock.

A 0-0 draw with Rainey followed before they cut loose on day two of the campaign. Pratt’s hat-trick saw Kilkenny come from behind to beat Cork’s Mount Mercy 5-2, scoring the first two with superb solo runs before Megan Telford-Kelly and and Wagenaar built a 4-2 half-time lead.

Needing a win in their final tie against Galway’s Salerno, Pratt – an Irish Under-18 international who is also the top scorer in the Leinster women’s Division One – was also on the mark first before Sophie Thomas made the game and the title safe.

Foxrock beat both Rainey and Salerno on day two to secure silver in their first ever appearance in the competition while Rainey could not add to their day one points total but still hung for third on goal difference ahead of Cork’s Mount Mercy.

Kate Russell All-Ireland Schoolgirl Championships

Thursday: Kilkenny College 2 (Y Pratt, J Wagenaar) Loreto Foxrock 1 (E Reidy); Salerno 0 Mount Mercy 0; Rainey Endowed 0 Kilkenny College 0; Mount Mercy 1 (K O’Halloran) Loreto Foxrock 3 (C Hamill, S McCooey, S O’Brien); Rainey Endowed 3 (B Scott 2, G Scott) Salerno 1

Friday: Rainey Endowed 0 Loreto Foxrock 2 (C Hamill, S O’Brien); Mount Mercy 2 (A O’Farrell 2) Kilkenny College 5 (Y Pratt 3, M Telford-Kelly, J Wagenaar); Loreto Foxrock 1 (S O’Brien) Salerno 0; Mount Mercy 3 (K O’Halloran, L O’Shea, S Murphy) Rainey Endowed 1; Salerno 0 Kilkenny College 2 (Y Pratt, S Thomas)