We were delighted this year to be able to honour many of the fantastic achievements of our current and past pupils at our annual Sports awards on Monday the 23rd of May. Prizes were handed out by our Olympian, Foster Horan and Irish U23 Hockey player Yasmin Pratt.

Our first student to be awarded a trophy was Andrew Cooper in Form 3. Andrew won the Leinster u16 Shot at the recent Leinster Athletics championship with a new record of 15.54 m. He hopes to go on and achieve more success at the All-Ireland’s in June.

Along with other Athletics awards, the College showed its appreciation to the many students who represent the school on a weekly basis throughout the year.

Hugh Dagg received the Sharman Cup for the best Hockey player in 6th year. Holly Hutchinson won the Sixsmith Cup (an equivalent trophy for girls).

It was a great year for some of the teams as the College won their respective Cup competitions in South Leinster at Senior A, Senior B and Junior A.

Amy Handcock and Emma Simmons will also represent Ireland U16’s in Hockey during the Summer.

In Rugby, both Boys’ and Girls’ teams were very successful throughout the year. The SCT and JCT both got to the League final, unfortunately coming up second best on the day. The TY/5th year team won their inaugural league.

Adam Shirley received the William Corrigan trophy for the best player in 6th year.

Kate Eacrett received an award for the Best girls player in 6th year.

We honoured Stephen Smyth, Adam Watchorn, Sean Naughton and Adam Shirley as they represented Ireland u18 Rugby this Spring.

All four, along with Paddy Bramley will train with Leinster over the Summer.

Our Badminton teams were also honoured. Great success was had by all teams in the College.

The U19 team won the Leinster trophy, the u16 team also won the Leinster trophy and the u14 squad were All-Ireland champions. Congratulations to all our boy’s and girl’s teams.

In tennis, Fainche Pryall was the Senior girls winner and George Shepherd was the boys winner.

We also paid tribute to some of our past pupils who have achieved success during the year.

Notable mentions went to Karen Weekes (first Irish woman to sail solo across the Atlantic) and Charlie Tector (Irish Grand slam winner with the u20’s) to name but a few.

It was also brilliant to be able to honour Ella Sullivan (Irish gymnastics) and Holly Ogilvie ( K1 World Freestyle Canoe Championships).

Senior awards were given to:

  • Quarter Centenary trophy: Harry Rogers
  • O’Connor Cup: Ava Chamney
  • Ruddock Cup: Vicky Ronaldson
  • Godfrey Day cup: Hugh Dagg
  • George Williams award: Holly Hutchinson